top nav



To be fully present and effective in realizing one’s place in the world, it is best to identify what is right and true NOW and from this position change, grow, develop and refine our capabilities.

Maslow Hierarchy of Needs

1. Biological and Physiological needs – Air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sleep, sex.

2. Safety needs – Protection from elements, security, order, stability, freedom from fear.

3. Love and Belonging needs – Friendship, intimacy, trust and acceptance, receiving and giving affection and love. Affiliating, being part of a group (family, friends, work).

4. Esteem needs – Achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, self-respect, respect from others.

5. Self-Actualization needs – Realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences.

6. Cognitive needs – Knowledge and understanding, curiosity, exploration, need for meaning and predictability.

7. Aesthetic needs – appreciation and search for beauty, balance, form, etc.

8. Transcendence needs – Helping others to achieve their self actualization.

Purusharta and the Vedic Chart

The Vedic chart is comparable to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs as it provides us with an astrological map unique to our individual potentials.

Based on our time, date and place of birth, the chart outlines and identifies base level needs as well as places where we can realize our potential through a system called the purusharta.

Puruṣartha is a composite Sanskrit word from purusha and artha and means human being and soul as well as, “universal principle and soul of the universe”. Artha in one context means both purpose and object of desire.

The combination of purush and artha point us toward prioritizing base level needs and how to achieve those potentials as identified in our Vedic Astrological birth-chart.

Pillars of the Purusharta

1. DHARMA – The word dharma has wide implications and while no english word does justice by translation, we can safely say it implies living conscientiously and in harmony with Nature.

2. ARTHA – Seeking security in alignment your life’s purpose.

3. KAMA – Art of enjoying life’s pleasures  practiced in alignment with life’s purpose.

4. MOKSHA – Freedom and liberation from limitations, both internal and external.

Vedic astrology and the philosophy of the Purusharta provide a path upon which we know ourselves; guiding our inquiry into the nature of life’s purpose while realizing love, happiness and freedom.

In this Workshop:

Students identify where the four purusharta (purpose, income, joy and freedom) pillars are in their personal birth-chart that parallel Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.

During the workshop, students use their birth-chart and through lecture and worksheets, map out their base level needs (income and security) and identify personal blocking obstacles.

We discuss strategies in problem solving that lead to higher-level refinements and authentic actualization of joy, family and happiness..

Discover the hidden aspects of your life’s purpose while more fully understanding yourself, the meaning of love, family, service and career.






Site by Shannon Garcia